NSHA Compendium 1999-2022: A Summary

The 218 pages Compendium for Nasarawa State House of Assembly was the first of its kind ever produced in the history of the House and it tells the journey of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly from 1999-2022.

In it contained among other things brief history of Nasarawa State and the State House of Assembly.

Names and pictures of Hon. Members that served from first to the present 6th Assembly, their constituencies and political parties.

The first Assembly was inaugurated on 6th June,1999 with Rt.Hon. Musa Ateru Agyo(PDP) keana constituency eleted as Speaker with 22 Hon. Members instead of 24 as Toto /Gadabuke constituency as well as Umaisha/Ugya Constituency has no representatives because election was not conducted in Toto L.G as a result of communal crisis between the Egbura and Bassa.

The Red line in Two boxes in the Compendium indicates members that share tenure as a result of court injunction,death or other circumstances.

6.The former Deputy Governor in the State Damishi Luka Barau was elected the 1st Assembly member for Akwanga North and he share tenure with Hon.samuel Mboki when Damishi was appointed as commissioner by the administration of Governor Abdullahi Adamu, Damishi was the first majority leader just as late Hon. Dakus Stephen share tenure with late Hon.Tahir Alayi for Uke/karshi in the First Assembly as a result of death.

The 2nd Assembly was inaugurated on 6th June,2003 with Rt.Hon Muhammed Ogoshi Onawo(PDP)Doma North elected as Speaker with Hon.Bala Rabo Ayaga (PDP)Kokona west who was the Deputy Speaker in the First Assembly re-elected to the same position in the 2nd Assembly.

Hon. Abubakar Aruwa and Hon. Moses Glaba share tenure in Akwanga south at the second Assembly as a result of death.

The 3rd Assembly was inaugurated on 6th June,2007 with Rt.Hon. Musa Ahmed Muhammed (PDP) Nasarawa central eleted as the Speaker with Rt. Hon. Elisha Jatau Agwadu (PDP)Obi 2 elected as the Deputy Speaker and the both served in that capacity in 3rd and 4th assembly respectively, and in that 3rd Assembly,Hon.Abdulhamid kwara and Barr. Innocent Lagi share tenure as a result of court injunction, Hon. Patrick Ebini and Hon. Muhammed Baba Ibaku also share tenure due to court injunction and Hon Ahmed Sardauna Eyibo and Hon. Anthony Obande shared tenure as a result of death in Doma South while Hon. Umar Tanko Tunga the current majority leader share tenure with Hon. Yakubu Faransa in the 4th Assembly for Awe North as a result of death.

In the 5th Assembly which was inaugurated on 9th June 2015 Rt.Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi (APC) Umaisha/Ugya elected as the Speaker with Rt.Hon.Godiya Akwashiki(PDP) Nasarawa Eggon west elected as the Deputy Speaker and in 5th Assembly Hon.Luka Iliya Zhekaba and Hon. Amos Agya share tenure in obi 2 constituency as a result of court injunction.

The present 6th Assembly when Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi returned as the Speaker,Rt.Hon. Tantse Nahemiah Dandaura APC Akwanga North was elected the Deputy Speaker when the House was inaugurated on 10th June, 2019 and following the demise of Hon. Suleiman Adamu Ibrahim,Hon. Ismail Suleiman Danbaba was elected for Nasarawa Central APC so they share tenure.

The House since inception has produced 5 clerks, HRH Barr.joel Sabo Aninge the present Odion Nyanpa of panda is the pioneer clerk from the military era when the state was created in 1996 to 1999.

The then Barr. Aisha Ahmed Mohammed the present Chief Judge of the State Justice Aisha Bashir was the 2nd clerk that served between 1999-2003 before Moses Ondaki Abari late served between 2003 to 2009 while late Suleiman Abdullahi Mohammed served between March to December 2009 and was succeeded by the present cleck Mr Ego Maikeffi Abashe.

Hon. Mary Nwagulu, Nasarawa Eggon East ANPP who was then Minority Leader in the 3rd Assembly was the only female the House ever produced.

Five Hon.Members of the House has so far made it to the National Assembly they are, Dist. Sen. Philip Aruwa Gyunka and Dist. Sen. Godiya Akwashiki to the red Chambers while those to the Green Chambers are Rt. Hon. Muhammed Ogoshi Onawo,Hon.Ishak Ahmed Kana and Hon. Abdulkreem Usman Ombamas.

Unfortunately, as of today the house has lost 19 Hon. Members including the pioneer Speaker Musa Ateru Agyo,Two clerks and one chairman of the assembly service commission who has gone to the great beyond,may their souls rest in peace.

There are many news from the House and National dailies captured in the Compendium and few of the headlines are

“Gov.Almakura leaving Nasarawa better than he met it”says Nasarawa Speaker,

” Nasarawa Assembly passes 2018 budget, jecks it up with 2.6 Billion.

” Nasarawa Assembly confirms first female chief judge.

” Impeechment:we are sorry, former Nasarawa Speaker, lawmakers tell Sen.Almakula.

” Nasarawa Assembly,passes vote of confidence on Governor Sule.

” Nasarawa Speaker felicitates with Governor Sule for winning zik prize for leadership award.

” Nasarawa Speaker appointed Africa Executive member of Commonwealth parliament.

” Governor Sule award contract for upgrade of Nasarawa Assembly Hallowed chamber from Analog to Digital.

“Presidential Award,
Nasarawa Speaker Bags North Central Best Speaker Award.

“Alleged Corruption : Nasarawa Assembly Directs Gov. Sule to Sack his SSG.

” Insubordination : Nasarawa Assembly suspends LG Boss.

And many more news from the House.

The Compendium also have the total number of Bills passed into law both executive and private member bills as well as resolutions passed from inception to date.

Chairmen and Members of the assembly service commission, principal officers and their hyrachy, House standing Committees, Organogram, and the general composition of the House as well as parliamentary union, directorate and units.

Hon. Commissioners in the State and other political appointees of government screened and confirmed by the House from inception 1999 to date.

Nigeria leaders from 1960 to date,past and presen Governors of the state,heads of arms of governments, Speakers and star interviews.

There are also in the Compendium News commentaries on executive legislative relationship the success story of Engr.Abdullahi Sule’s administration and on his foreign investment drive among others.

Also in the Compendium is how the state share constituencies at the state assembly with Nasarawa West Senatorial Zone having 10 members, Nasarawa South 9 and Nasarawa North 5 with each L.G have 2 members except keana and wamba having one each.

L.G and Dev.Areas with their headquarters, electoral wards in each of the 13 LGAs in the state, and states that share boundary with Nasarawa among other vital pieces of informations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s