Senator Lawal Emerges President Of The 9th Senate

By Ibrahim H. Suleiman
There was jubilation at the red chamber of the National Assembly Tuesday following the victory of the preferred candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan for the position of the senate president.
The Senator representing Yobe North senatorial district emerged President of the Nigerian Senate following a keenly contested election during the inauguration ceremony of the 9th Senate.
The senator polled seventy nine votes to beat his rival, Senator Muhammad Ali Ndume, representing Borno South at the red chamber during the election presided over by Clerk of the National Assembly, Muhammad Sanni Omolori.
Muhammad Sanni promptly conducted the swearing-in ceremony of Senator Ahmad Lawan, who immediately took his seat as the president of the 9th senate.
A total of one hundred and seven out of one hundred and nine senators-elect present at the inauguration ceremony of the 9th National Assembly cast their votes as Senator Lawan polled seventy nine votes to win the contest, while Senator Ndume managed just twenty eight votes.
Principal officers of the eighth senate were on hand to congratulate the newly elected senate president Ahmad Lawan on his victory.
The victory of Senator Ahmad Lawan is seen as a major achievement by the APC whose candidate failed to get the required support of the senators at the commencement of the eighth senate that brought Senator Bukola Saraki as senate president.
With the victory of Senator Lawan the APC would be expected to heave a sigh of relief that it would step into the Next Level on a more sound footing than during the last dispensation.
It would be recalled that the Bukola Saraki senate presidency during the eighth senate was characterised by constant infighting and rancour considered not conducive for the progressive development of the country.
Meanwhile, Senator Obansi Ovie Omo-Agege has emerged as the deputy senate president for the 9th senate after defeating senator Ike Ekweremadu by polling sixty eight votes out of the one hundred and seven votes available.
With the victory of senator Omo-Agege as deputy senate president the APC has asserted its dominance of the upper chamber as the former deputy senate president, who belongs to the opposition People’s Democratic Party, PDP has finally been ousted from the top echelon of the senate leadership.
Omo-Agege, a staunch APC chieftain represents Delta State central senatorial district in the National Assembly, while his rival, Senator Ekweremadu the immediate past deputy senate president hails from Enugu State.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s